The Hawick Reivers Festival is organised by Hawick Reivers Association, a company limited by guarantee, and is a not-for-profit organisation. A committee of volunteers, consisting of the directors and other members of the company, is responsible for organising the festival, but relies on the support of many other individuals and groups to ensure its success.

Our aims, as stated in our constitution, include that of heightening people’s awareness of the spirit of the Reivers in art, performance and spectacle and to bring some aspects of the 16th Century to life. We also aim to promote economic growth by increasing visitor numbers in Hawick by encouraging people to stay longer and spend money in the town, and to bring the local community together to work on the project. This latter aim is achieved by the active participation of many different groups within the community of Hawick, including the Callants Club, the Mosstroopers, the local primary schools, The Border Clansmen, Hawick Community Council, the army cadets, the Drum and Fife Band, and the Scout Fellowship Pipe Band.

The current members of the committee are:

Cath Elliott-Walker (Chair)
Keith Johnson
John Craig
Paul Brough
Morag McCreadie
Keith Douglas
Ellen Halliday
Gordon Webber
Scott Moffat
Evelyn Sangster
Gilbert Sangster

We are always on the look-out for new volunteers and would encourage anyone with an interest in the festival, whether they have the capacity to serve on the committee, or if they can spare a few hours to help out at the festival weekend, to get in touch through the “Contact Us” section of the website or speak to any of the current committee members.